What a Week

While all my friends back home are wrapping up finals, I am just starting my midterm exams. So far, so good. I don’t think I’m about to fail any of my courses any time soon, but we’ll see how my econ exam goes tomorrow.

Do I look like a German Bierfrau?

More importantly, I’m going to Munich for Frühlingsfest! It’s basically the springtime version of Oktoberfest with fewer tourists. So my friend who is also named Emma and I went Dirndl shopping today. For those of you who do not know about traditional German fashion, a dirndl is a traditional German dress in three parts. There’s the dress, the blouse, and the apron. We went to a thrift store and had to search through bins to mix and match each part. I ended up getting everything for only 70 euros, which doesn’t sound cheap, but for dirndls, it’s a pretty good price. Plus, I’m going to wear it this weekend at Frühlingsfest and at every German club event for the rest of my college career.

Also, it is currently Spargelzeit in Deutschland, which means there is asparagus everywhere. Germany is especially known for its white asparagus, which I had never tried before today. Emma and I went to this great traditional German restaurant and I got to order of the Spargelzeit menu! It was a delicious meal of potatoes and asparagus, very German.

All in all, a busy week. I’ll be sure to write all about my trip to Munich this weekend!

Leave a Reply

