A Breakthrough

I’ve finally had a real conversation with my roommates. There are two tall men with large hair and beards, and they really intimidated me, but they’re actually super nice. When I came home, they told me they wanted to get to know me, so we sat and talked (in German). I found out that in Vauban, there are knitting, reading, and yoga groups I might want to join. They also want to take me to the Vaubar.

One, Haytham is from Palestine, and he is very against capitalism. So somehow I ended up having to defend America to him, and my German is really not good enough for that. They taught me a bunch of new words, though, including einschüchternd, which means intimidating. I’ll be using that one a lot.

Leave a Reply

