Orientation 2.0

At Hausbrauerei Feierling, the beer is brewed in house
At Hausbrauerei Feierling, the beer is brewed in house

My luggage has finally caught up to me, and I learned a new German word: erleichtert. It means relieved, which is exactly how I feel.

This is great because I had to walk around without an umbrella and it was hailing during our tour of the city. On the bright side, Freiburg is beautiful. My favorite part so far was the Freiburger Münster, which is a beautiful, old church.

I drank a Radler, which is half beer half soda, and all delicious
I drank a Radler, which is half beer half soda, and all delicious

The tour was one of the main things we did today (technically yesterday), but we also had to take a written German placement test and do a short interview in German. This is all to figure out our German levels so that we can be in the right classes. After the interviews, we had a few hours before icebreakers and pizza, so a group of us went to Hausbrauerei Feierling, a Biergarten.

After the pizza, some friends and I went to a cafe for cocktails and to get to know each other. I really like the people in this program, and I am impressed with how well we all communicate in German.

Leave a Reply

